Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Amethyst Deceiver

While our autumn colours have been slow to come this year, we have had lots of good fungi specimens in our local woods, better than I have seen in previous years. Today on my dog walk I found many interesting fungi, and I took many photos - as I was focus stacking I came home with about 100 photos - but when I loaded them up to my computer every one was a bit blurry and not perfectly sharp. I think the camera was not tightly secured on to the the mini tripod that I was using so there was some movement. I was very annoyed with myself, as an image like this has to be sharp, so they were all deleted.

We got caught in some rain as the walk was ending, but after I came home, washed Xena down and had a cappuccino, the sun came out so I decided to return to the woods to try and photograph the fungi all over again! The problem is I could not find the fungi, as it is so hidden in the undergrowth, and I could not remember exactly where I had previously seen it, so I only found some of them. I also don't know how all the lovely fungi images I see on social media have such clear backgrounds, I think the photographer spends some time cutting away at anything in the background. While I do try to clear away distracting leaves and twigs, I don't feel its right to go and cut all the vegetation surrounding the fungi, so my images will never be as clear and clean looking as the ones I see from other photographers.

I think this one is an Amethyst Deceiver but I am not that knowledgeable about identifying fungi types. 

We have a talk at camera club tonight but I am not going as the subject does not really interest me, and I have something on most nights this week so I can do with a night at home instead. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.