PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

For ages 60 and up!

I know it's Quentin Blake again, but I just had to share this. When I was doing this jigsaw, I was puzzled by one drawing. I could more or less sort out all the rest of the drawings and place them in books, but this one I had no idea. 

I looked though a list of all his books and finally decided that You're Only Young Twice was likely. So I sent for a copy and it is a delight. Published in the UK in 2008, "for oldies who don't take themselves too seriously", it passed me by - but then I might not have thought of myself as an 'oldie' then - maybe I don't now actually!!

It is interesting that it was first published in France in 2007 with the title Vive Nos Vieux Jours. 

This is what Quentin Blake says in the front of the book:

I like the idea (of the characters finding themselves in trees) because, although people of my age don't really spend so much time in trees, it's a reminder that this is not real life but just a visual suggestion - a little metaphor - of the vivacity and élan that can survive even if your limbs don't work with the same smoothness and efficiency that they used to. (I am not, of course, trying to pretend that age is this amount of fun all the time.)


Another drawing in extras to show the fun and exuberance of these drawings. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.