michigan man

By outdoorguy

Where the Osage Meets the Road

Other than looking pretty and having a unique color, the osage orange isn't of much use. There is an old wives tale that it keeps spiders away, but the experiment in our basement a couple years back didn't seem to make a difference.

I warned the orange that it wasn't off of the road enough, but it didn't listen. 

"Look at your comrades,
they are WAY beyond gush.
Get away from the road...
YOU ARE GOING TO BE CRUSHED!"

On a sad note, we learned today that my walking/hiking buddy Doug has passed away. I visited with him a few weeks back, and while we did have a nice visit, it was sad to see him confined to a hospital-type bed.

He was a wonderful man and a pleasure to be around. My heart is heavy and my eyes are moist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.