fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

'Mutiny In Heaven'

My brother used to say - only half-jokingly - that he didn't need to hear/see/taste whatever to know he didn't like it. But actually, I think we're all like that at times.

Going back to the early nineties, I'd certainly made up my mind that I didn't like Nick Cave, despite my only knowledge of his work being an album he released with his band The Birthday Party, more of whom in a moment, when I was really too young to get them.

Then my first wife, on the recommendation of Smyth's Records in Kendal, bought me a copy of 'Henry's Dream', which I slowly fell in love with, and I've loved Nick Cave ever since.

And I have gone back to The Birthday Party, too, and I learned to love them, and in particular their bass player, Tracy Pew.

This evening, the Minx, Yoss, and I went down to The Everyman to see a new documentary about The Birthday Party called 'Mutiny In Heaven' and it was astonishing and brilliant. A cracking insight into the time, their music and their personalities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.