Now we have everything

By Gembop

Aww dad!!

Charlie getting embarrassed by his dad already :)

Today was a busy one! Charlie and I went downstairs at 6:30/7am ish to leave Robin to lie-in on Father's Day. Dad was already up having been downstairs all night and only managing an hours sleep due to leg pain or numbness (or both!) I gave him his Father's Day card and present - a trip to the top of the Shard when next in London.

By 8am Charlie was getting very shouty but refusing to sleep so I took him upstairs away from distractions. Unfortunately the shouting continued waking up Robin, who then got his Father's Day card at least! His friend has been on at him about a night out to Faces nightclub so one of his presents was a 'pass out' ;)

As Dad can't drive at the moment I left Rob to get Charlie to sleep and got ready to take Dad to the shops. He wanted to walk round and get everything himself so I waited in the car park not looking ostentatious at all in my mucus-purple 107! He was in there about 20-odd minutes so I immediately regretted not going in with him.

When we got back Charlie was still not asleep so I sent Robin back to bed and got Charlie dressed and into his car seat for our next journey- taking mum to the cemetery to see my grandad. It was a year ago today that I last saw him. He whispered something to me but I didn't hear it.

Charlie was asleep so I waited in the car until he woke then took him down to where my Grandma, Auntie, Uncle and Mum were standing by my Grandad's memorial. Charlie is named after my Grandad and my Auntie noticed he looked down at the memorial straight away. They were glad he was there and it was lovely to see them.

On the way back we had to make a stop at a garage as we noticed the passenger tyre was flat. Hope it's not a slow puncture! The tyre was down to 13 dpi rather than 32.

When we got home my brother and his family were there to see dad. The puppy was a little frightened by all the legs I think so stayed in his bed. He stayed over last night too as my sister took her boys to Splash Landings.

We were starting to pack up when Carrie kindly dropped by with loads of goodies for Charlie! He's got a lot of lovely clothes to grow into now. She's as bad as me with buying her little man clothes so they're all as new!

We then set off to Barford to see Robin's mum. She had an operation on her ear on Friday and was discharged only yesterday. Charlie slept the whole way so was his usual smiley self when we arrived. Paul had made dinner then we sat outside in the garden to enjoy the last of the day's sunshine. Carole is doing surprisingly well- but not taking it easy of course!

We said our goodbyes at around 5pm to get Charlie home for my bedtime but the M1 was against us and it took 2.5 hours to get back. Charlie slept all that time so was awake when we got him out of the car seat. I changed and fed him but he showed no signs of dropping off. He was quiet and calm though so I put him down wide awake with his star projector on just to see and he rolled straight over, grabbed his Wabbit and closed his eyes! So cute. I checked on him 15 minutes later and he was fast asleep!

An hour before Father's Day was over I remembered Robin's present from Charlie (that I'd left at home, doh). It's a pen for work that also has a recording of Charlie giggling on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.