Groggster

By Groggster

A Bear With A Cross To Bear

Today I drove out to Barming to try and capture a landscape shot of it's church, the rather wonderfully named St Margaret of Antioch, which appears to sit in splendid isolation in a ploughed field with an expansive view across a nearby valley.
Once I'd parked the car I had to cross a very busy main road and stand on an isolated grass verge, much to the bemusement of passing motorists, to try and get my shot. I found what I believed to be a good viewpoint and I liked the composition but unfortunately the slate grey sky was proving somewhat unresponsive to my photographic endeavours.
Therefore, I decided to continue my perambulatory course down the adjacent lane into Barming village itself looking for another path to the church to get a different perspective but had to turn back due to the arrival of a torrential downpour. 
Looking like a bit of a drowned rat I was heading back to the car when I came across this little lost bear which had been left tied to the fence in front of a diminutive chapel.
As the gloom descended further and the rain continued to lash down my lens began to fog up but after availing myself of my jacket sleeve to clear it and using some fill in flash I was able to get this image.
Having a cross to bear is a difficult responsibility or burden that someone must have to handle on their own. Hopefully this poor little bear won't have to bear its burden alone for too much longer before it is reunited with its assumedly bereft owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.