KathyH58

By KathyH58

Lobster pot tree

I decided to take a quick trip to Eastern Passage tonight to get a photo of this lobster pot tree. The homeowners build one every year in memory of fishermen lost at sea.

It was 8:45 this morning before a grader showed up to clear my street. Fortunately he did not leave any snow/ice in front of my driveway. I emailed my city councilor to complain and just got a general reply back telling me to call 311 if there is a problem and that I should check to see what priority my street is. Some streets in Halifax had not been plowed either, including one that has an elementary school at the end of it. Another friend of mine posted that it was 2:30 pm today before her street got plowed. The problem is, the snow clearing contracts don't start till Dec 15th but the drivers do have to be on call after Dec 1. Some of the equipment is still being used for construction projects.

This morning I went to Michael's to pick up a few things, then had a walk at Shubie Park. I stayed on the groomed trails. I need to find my ice grippers which I think are buried in the back seat of the truck. This afternoon while I was talking to a friend on the phone there was a crow and a squirrel having a snack on the deck railing. There was a hawk, at least I think it was a hawk, that tried to have one of them for supper. I think he was going after the squirrel but because he was sitting in the feeder he was somewhat protected by the rope holding the feeder. Both the crow and the squirrel did a fast disappearing act. I saw the hawk one more time before he disappeared down over the hill. He was too far away for me to even consider trying for a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.