Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Well, I'm VERY glad that's over with. All clear too. Mind you, when they asked who referred me I didn't know, nor did they. It seems I was just 'on the list' and had been for quite some time and a vacancy had popped up.

I am SO enjoying just lying here on the sofa, having a coffee and chocolate biscuit every now and then. Even a Magnum! Such luxury. I haven't been to the toilet, rushing or otherwise, since being in the hospital. It really was an awful yesterday.

However, the arrangements went well - Archie stayed with Elizabeth last night, so we were up and on the road before 7am We were so glad it wasn't frosty, or raining. And the GPS is always a godsend.

The East Lothian Hospital is brand new (well about 3/4 years old) and it's fabulous. We were first there, and I was first in and a couple of hours later, first out. JR stayed in the hospital - they had magazines, coffee and it was warm.

I kept my mind focussed on that cup of tea at the end. I was desperate for a glass of water, but the nurse said I wasn't allowed anything to drink. I had unknowingly followed the directions they had sent. And boy! Did it taste good. Toast and jam too. And some shortbread. I wish I’d brought my phone in - it really was worth a photo!

Though we hadn't expected it, we were home when Elizabeth dropped Archie off - he had already had a big long walk.

Thank you for all your good wishes. I am such a wimp - there are much worse things people have to put up with. In fact, I was forcing myself to glug down the disgusting gloop yesterday, feeling sorry for myself, while listening to news of the poor folk in Gaza. Get real, woman!

Photo by Elizabeth, photographic assistant. No 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.