Now we have everything

By Gembop

In his big boy pushchair

Last night Robin and I swapped the carrycot material on the Bugaboo for the seat. I was quite sad to pack away the 'baby' part of the pushchair but the look on Charlie's face today when he could see more of the world made it worth it!

Me and the little dude had a really good morning. We didn't linger upstairs as usual watching Frasier (how sad is it that I know they've played the whole series almost twice over since I've been on maternity leave?!) Instead we were up and dressed and getting a load of jobs done around the house.

With Charlie's new-found mobility he is much happier playing for extended periods. I was running around for about 90 minutes this morning and barely heard a peep from him. He was in his playroom rolling from toy to toy. He started to get tired and I made the mistake of 'seeing what he'd do' and whether he'd just lay down and sleep. Silly Gemma. When I'd finished hovering the rest of the downstairs and came in to his play room, turning the vacuum on as I went, he absolutely flew out of his skin and the started crying his eyes out! I picked him up and he stopped (and smiled through wet eyes, bless!) but when I went to show him the Hoover he cried again. I guess that's an excuse not to hoover up if I needed one!

The tears were down to tiredness and he was shouty when I was working at the desk (calculating how many tins of beans we'd need to eat for me to have a full year's maternity leave off!) I tried to put him down but he was hungry, then I tried to feed him to drowsiness but he was having none of it so it was shopping time! Unfortunately I chose a bad time to swap out the bassinet as his new seated view gives him so much to look out. Still he fell asleep eventually and got 20 minutes in before he felt the motion stop at the post office.

That's when I noticed another flat tyre- this time on the pushchair. I bought a bike pump from the indoor market stall opposite the post office and ducked into the library (in the same building) to sit down and pump it back up. Better there than on the high street!

Charlie stayed awake right up until we were 5 mins from home then stayed awake for the rest of the afternoon. He was little less content when playing but cheered up when we pulled the new highchair out. Charlie tried a couple of new foods today: pear (slightly steamed and cut into sticks) and reduced sugar Rusks. Maybe the natural (and not so natural) sugars contributed to his lack of naps this afternoon. Thankfully he went down okay this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.