jennym999

By jennym999

Christmas Big Issue

This morning I went to Kingston early to go to John Lewis at 9am and then another shop at 9.30 to pick up some things I had ordered, then home as the car park was filling up! The Big Issue seller outside John Lewis looked rather sad so I decided to buy one and also talked to her briefly …she cheered up a bit and was happy for me to take her photo. Later I read inside it that the sellers buy them for £2.25 and sell the Christmas edition for £4.50. I was happy to give her £5 as she is at least ‘working’ rather than just begging. Those of us with decent houses and incomes need to be very thankful at this time of year. I didn’t see anyone else buying a magazine and I was reflecting that you can’t buy much in JL or Waitrose without spending a lot.

We had all the family for lunch and later in the afternoon went for a dog walk and to the local playground for the three grandchildren to have a run around. The same playground that my children used to go to when they were small. 

I also got out the two remote controlled cars which are over 30 years old and they worked really well. They cost £29.50 when bought so were good quality…made in Singapore, not China! They spent nearly an hour taking turns and playing with them.

Last night I finished making up some of the Lego kits but will keep them to give them on another day. Still lots more to do… maybe tomorrow!

My son and daughter in law are going out to dinner nearby as it is their Wedding Anniversary  tomorrow so we are babysitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.