Gone Girl

The strangest thing happened when Audrey turned one. It was as though someone flicked a switch and the old me was back. Not the same person but a variation of.

I still love spending time with Audrey and the Mummy pangs for her are stronger than ever, don't get me wrong. But equally, I am itching to do stuff again, to get out the house, to work on my business, to travel, to download new music, buy clothes, cook, go out for dinner, visit the cinema, read books...Things that I have had to park this past year whilst Audrey has ruled my life.

As a result, I have enrolled her in a nursery from September (just a day a week to start with), stepped up my social life, bought a cookery book, bought cinema tickets and started reading Grazia again (religiously!)

Today I had meetings in Nottingham for some new business that should help pay for this change of lifestyle (if I win the work).

The times they are a changing...

And if one more person asks me when I'm going to have another baby, I could be liable to do them an injury!
I love Audrey and my life is infinitely better with her in the world but I have no desire to have another child at this moment in time. Yet I find myself defending this decision on a daily basis. Grrrrr! But that's a whole other blip I need to write one day.

Today's blip pic is of my reading spot in Spinningfields in Manchester on my way home from the station tonight. I didn't fancy the long taxi queues and Robbie Williams concert traffic so this seemed a better option! Manchester is a wonderful place when the sun shines, it really is...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.