I found a crown this morning

I got out while it was about 13 degrees out this morning to try and find a good shot for my 1000th photo. I think this one works. There were some nice frosty seed heads around.
Luckily, the weather has warmed up today and the chickens were out and about. I looked out the window this morning before the chickens were out and saw an ermine peeking in the doorway at the chickens. EEK!!!!!
Out I went and everyone was fine. I shut the door on the coop until Sister was done in the nest box and they wanted to come out.
Ermine can kill chickens. They can kill prey much bigger than themselves. They get triggered by the motion and can't stop themselves.
Anyway, we watched it run through the rat holes that we have in abundance and really hope it will do something about that population. That is one of the things they eat. Our chickens and ducks are buttoned up really well at night and their floor is off the ground so nobody can dig into the coop. I'm feeling pretty okay about things.
But gosh, it would have been great to get a picture of it. It was so cute but moved soooooo fast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.