KimberlyJenkins

By KimberlyJenkins

"Schwarz und Weiß"

Sorry, uploading this one late because I passed out last night, so hopefully I didn't forget too much...Anyways, we woke up really early (i.e. 6am) to go to school. Franzies mom drove us to the bus stop and we began the long journey to school. Thankfully, there there was a beautiful man on the bus and earphones nearby. It seems like the people in Germany are not as obsessed with the opposite sex (i.e. boy crazy). Or maybe that is just Franzie, i'm not sure. It seems like in America the girls really bond over talking about boys or making jokes about who they think is attractive, but here...nope. Unless I'm really just missing it, ha. But yeah, he was a beautiful man...and then we got to school. We had Politics first and I had no idea what was going on. Then we had English!! It was perfect except for when I embarrassed myself. The teacher (in english) asked me if "I knew most of the students and if I wanted to talk about myself" and I said I knew most of the students (in German)...false and then just sat there. oops. Then he asked me my name, where I was from...blah blah. and then it was ok. ha. Then they were talking about a short story they read and the use of a surprise ending. They also talked about the use of irony and sarcasm to approach an uncomfortable topic, like islamic sexism and martyrs. Yep...in the German classes we took we only made it to weather. and jobs. and modes of transportation. No wonder everyone speaks such good English here. ha. However, we then watched a satirical film about some of the same topics and I found myself laughing when no one else was, because they didn't understand. So that made me feel a little better! After English we went to eat outside. I was with Franzie, Marius, and some other people I don't know. They were all talking in German and then the girl beside me starts talking in broken English in a Spanish sounding accent saying that she just moved to Germany and her English wasn't very good. So I started slowly and simply asking her how long she's been studying English and her name and what not and she interrupts me with perfect sounding English saying that she thought it would be funny to play a joke on me....why? I'm already out of my comfort zone here and ended up just sitting there like..well. You suck. haha. But what can you do. After this we went to Chemistry and hung out while they all got their exam grades. Franzie's mom was there to pick us up when we got out and we went home, ate a snack, and got ready for the soccer game! I slept most of the way there and woke up right before we got there. It was simple looking on the outside, but when we went inside it was overwhelmingly exciting. There were German flags and "schwarz und Weiß" jerseys everywhere. We found our seats (Franzie and I were sitting separately from her parents) and waited for the game to start. Franzie said she was going to get drinks and I drank my first full German beer (wann in Deutschland, ya?). It was mixed with sprite and was actually pretty good. The game was pretty evenly match and ended with Deutschland winning 1:0! Ohh, and the game was on tv and Franzie and I were on the screen so i'm basically famous. Not a big deal. After the game we went to what I guess would be called a fan trailer in America...it was a trailer outside of the stadium where you could buy jerseys and flags and whatnot, so I bought a Jersey!! Franzie actually helped me buy it as her family's gift to me which is extremely nice seeing as i'm already sleeping in there house and eating their food which is already too much. After this we drove home and I slept the best I have since I've been here. It was one of those...I might be dead right now kind of sleep, because we were also able to sleep in until 10. Yeah, Much better. (:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.