ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

The Last Time

Well, here it is. The last gig of the year. And also my last gig with Route 66 as I’m leaving the band after tonight. Not my decision, but I’m not entirely unhappy about it. The direction the band wants to go in musically doesn’t really float my boat, and they want to do even more gigs next year. I’ve found this years schedule quite tiring at times and it’s very restrictive having to plan all other activities (shows, concerts, holidays, etc) around the gigs in the diary.
Time for a younger man to step in. Which is also part of the reason for leaving. I’m a good thirty (if not forty) years older than the rest of the band and I think they’re wanting to project a younger image.
Whilst I’m naturally sad to be leaving, I kind of understand the reasons why. I will definitely miss playing live though. I think the best thing to do is go out on a high tonight, get Panto out of the way and then see what opportunities are out there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.