Three Crashes!

I think last years total was 7-8 crashes directly in front of me, and maybe 4-5 on other corners that I watched.

This week we're on 2 for other corners - and an impressive 3 for today directly in front of me!

The difference this year is that I spot the mortal soul going over and keep my finger on the trigger. Capture the moment - as it comes from a different direction for the poor guy or gal on the bike.

The only real damage done is to pride, and, as long they aren't German, there's a reasonably good chance they'll laugh it off. Having said that, all 3 victims today were German, and 2 did (eventually) take it in good spirit.

The bikes usually come away fairly unscathed and if there is any damage it's little more than superficial.

The common crash scenario is caused by impatience from the bikers. Rather than just sticking back from a clogged/busy corner, no, they force their way onto the hairpin, just as an inexperienced driver starts to get even more nervous from the tight corner and everyone trying to push past him. One thing leads to another, the driver does something unexpected (like stop) - the biker has to stop - and the road is 12" below where he's expecting it. Out comes the foot - no ground - the bike lands on him.

Not sure what this guy's excuse was for falling off. Think he cut the corner too sharp, tried to turn the bike too hard, practically stalled it, and then it went pair shaped.

Last year I couldn't photograph the accidents. I'd take the camera away from my eye and watch him go over. Not this year. Keep it to my eye and keep the shutter button down. All the way down. Down until he's gone down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.