ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Hanging On Your Hinges

When I arrived home after Panto on Thursday night I noticed that the fridge door wasn’t closing as firmly as it should. Didn’t think too much of it until Mrs C told me on Friday morning that she had heard a “crack” when opening the door the previous evening. Closer investigation revealed that something had definitely broken inside the upper hinge.
A quick trawl of t’internet revealed that I could get AEG original replacements for around £25 each or cheap pattern parts for about £12 each. But, on the basis that it’s probably best to replace both hinges at the same time, I ordered a pair of non original - but as good quality - hinges for £36, including postage off good old eBay.
They arrived yesterday afternoon and I fitted them this morning. A very straightforward swap - the hardest part was getting the outer “furniture” door off in order to get access to the hinge securing screws. Though I did have to go delving into the bin at one point, as I’d forgotten to remove the pins from the old hinges that limit how far the door can open. Fortunately, they could be fitted after everything else, so no need to dismantle it all again!
The fridge door closes very firmly now, and will hopefully continue to do so for many years to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.