LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The Princess and The Pea

I don’t usually swim on a Saturday but today looked as if it might have the best weather for the next few days. The predictions of Arctic winds with snow and ice thrown in for good measure are enough to make the thought of travelling by bus to the sea next week too daunting. 

Nevertheless I have to admit I had a struggle to commit this morning- it was dark and damp outside and my bed was warm and cosy. However, I’m glad I made myself go and I met up with some of the Bluetits who were swimming at 10am. The tide was almost at Fife but the sun had miraculously managed to break through the clouds and it made for a perfect dip. A swim it was not. Unlike the Stromness Selkies who have buoys as targets to swim towards, Porty Bluetits just have sea and far flung groynes and too far flung to make any swim appealing at least to me. However bobbing about contemplating the heavens with a handstand or three attempted to add interest and I was very content.

Home, seamlessly on two buses, a hot shower and then a blueberry bun and a coffee at Söderberg using up a Christmas present voucher from daughter #5 and I’m a happy Lady.
As I close the blinds on the day I see a wonderful sunset - a complete contrast to the non sunrise this morning.

I have named my avocado seedling, ‘Princess’. She is about to have a younger sibling who has just produced a tap root and who I think of as a he/him because I had a younger brother. I have named him ‘Pea’. So we have the Princess and the Pea

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.