Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DAY SEVEN (Brisbane)

Today was spent mooching around the city centre. It was showery and very HOT. At one point I thought the building opposite had fallen down, the noise was so LOUD Just thunder in Queensland. The others went shopping quite a lot, which I couldn't be bothered doing a) I don't need/want/can't fit in anything and b) it was too bloomin' hot! I met up with them a couple of times - we're in the CBD, so it's handy enough to pop in and out. 

At one point I had to go out with my pocket raincoat, which I thought was a very good idea, but it's not. You'd end up a sweaty mess. Umbrellas are thing here. 

I went into David Jones, a big department store, wandered around, but had no idea where to find 'umbrellas' (and there were no staff around to ask) so I gave up. JR then accompanied me to Woolworths, where we did find them, but I didn't find the ideal one. I know Gill in Sydney will have one, and we're going there tomorrow, so I gave up easily. We met up for a lovely sushi lunch.

Susan came round to our hotel after work, and we walked to the perfect spot, sitting outside in the balmy evening, but under cover, and no muzak, and excellent nibbles! Also, the waitress had studied at Edinburgh Uni, and was on her first working holiday. Tony joined us a wee while later, and parked nearby - it helps to have lived and worked in the city for years and know it well- and so we had a lovely evening. So nice to meet up with our old, much missed, neighbours!

And when we departed, it felt really really late, but it was only about 8.30pm!! Bonus.

Didn't take many photos today...

SYDNEY TOMORROW1

PS I’ve had 12 videos/photos of Archie today - starting at 05.22 GMT….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.