jennym999

By jennym999

From Stratford on Avon 120 years ago…

Continuing with my tidy up of old family photos etc. I looked through a few old postcards and this time I actually read them. I was surprised to find this very old one which was sent to my grandmother in 1904 well before my mother was born. It seems to be from a friend who was visiting Stratford on Avon…see extra of Shakespeares House. The house looks much the same today but not the road in front.
The farm on the address where she lived is still there , we found it on a visit to Dorset a couple of years ago , but they had moved  before my mother was born. 
Interesting to see the stamp was for a half penny…..I converted this to todays equivalent and found that it was around 45p. Meaning that post was cheaper then and I’m sure it got delivered more reliably too!

We had the family for a nice roast lunch and went for a quick walk afterwards before the howling wind started which made it very cold again despite the temperature this morning being 11C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.