Run for your life!

I've had a lovely Sunday!

My folks came through first thing to take me to Portobello in the rain. Today was PRC's beach race so the team were mostly all there either running or marshalling. Today I was running. It's the first time I've ever run on sand, so I really didn't know what to expect. It was pretty tough! I ran approx 4-4.5 miles in 40.09 minutes - so I'm actually pretty pleased with that. (Someone's garmin registered it as just over 7k - so thats 4.34 miles). It's harder to run on the sand, so I expected to be slower than usual.

We'd then planned to have a BBQ on the beach, but clearly the weather had other ideas so we went home and had homemade burgers in my flat. They were delicious garlic burgers mmmm garlic burgers!

Then this afternoon we went to see World War Z. I read the book a couple of weeks ago, and you might remember I went to the World Premiere and free Muse concert in London on 2nd June. So had to go and actually see the film.

I knew it wasn't going to be like the book. A film couldn't really do it and stick to the way it's presented in print. I recognised certain elements taken from the book at the beginning. By the end, it wasn't even trying to be the book. But that's ok - it was still a damn good, enjoyable film. Also Brad Pitt was really great in it (I've always been a fan) - and he's certainly looking exceptional for an almost 50 year old! I'd highly recommend it, as long as you don't go expecting to see the book.

This was mum and Ian when we sat down in the cinema. Boy I'm glad we booked! It did get busier though!

Today's run: 4.5 miles
June running mileage: 64 miles
2013 running mileage: 524 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.