Flying

I've had quite a weird night tonight, I met up with Claire, Claire and Mark to do some hill training. When we started out, it was the usual tough going. But the longer we were out, the easier it was getting. I have absolutely no idea what was going on. Here are my theories:

1. I'm getting better at this hill running business
2. I was just having a good day
3. I perform better the day after a hard run

Looking at number 3, I've noticed this before. Once I did a brutal half marathon training run one day and then had to run home from work (when I worked at the Gyle) the day after. Instead of the tired, lethargic legs I expected, I was positively spritely. I didn't think much of it. Yesterday's beach race was tough and left my legs feeling sluggish. And today, I was again spritely! Perhaps it was just a fluke. Who knows?

What I do know is that I really enjoyed myself tonight. I felt like I was flying downhill, I just knew I could keep on going faster. And I did. I felt like a kid running down a hill for the first time. My adult self used to be quite scared of downhill trail running, but I'm definitely getting more confident at it. There was no fear at all tonight though, just joy!

When we'd finished, I felt like I could do it all again!

Today's run: 4 miles
June running mileage: 68 miles
2013 running mileage: 528 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.