ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Reinforcements

The fence just about survived Storms Isha and Jocelyn this week, but this panel is now seriously weakened. I suppose I should say more seriously weakened, as it was originally damaged during Storm Arwen back in November 2021. I had to put a brace on the bottom after that storm, but a further two years of British weather have not helped the rest of the structure.
A full replacement of the fence is scheduled for this spring (should have been last summer but events conspired against us) so I just need it to last a few more weeks. The trick is to stop it moving when there is a strong wind as the constant flexing is what causes the damage - especially if it makes the panel slip off its concrete base.
So I’ve put some wedges down the sides to stop the rattling there. And then hammered these battens into the ground to try and stop the bottom of the fence flexing.
I don’t think there are any more storms in the offing, so I’m going to keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.