Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Singapore Day 2

After a good night’s sleep, I had breakfast in the hotel. What an amazing buffet! More like a dinner buffet than a breakfast one. I had to refrain though, as I was meeting my friend Sze (from Budapest days and who lives here) for lunch. Not before a quick visit to Marks and Spencer though, in one of the galleries across from the hotel. Managed to get a bargain of a top, reduced to just 5 euros!

Taxi to meet Sze at 12 at Armenor, where we fell into easy conversation. Lovely to see her again! Who’d have thought when we met for lunch last year here that we’d be back this year?!

Then on to the Central Library, where I’d read about a photograph exhibition as part of Singapore Art Week. The library was less than 5 minutes walk away - couldn’t have been easier. The exhibition was based on an idea which started during Covid, when photo walks were organised and photos were exchanged to combat loneliness. Ben (in my blip) the curator, just happened to be there at the same time as me and so we chatted and he was happy to pose for a pic. The idea is that any visitor can choose two photos to take away and keep, replacing them with post it notes of thanks to the photographer. Nice idea.

The central library is in a building of, I think, 10 floors, each floor dedicated to books and exhibitions for all ages and interests. One of these exhibitions was on how to use AI to create your own book. You can see the front cover of mine in the collage. Each book, made up of six or so frames, is projected on the wall of the exhibition room (see last pic of the collage) a couple of minutes after it’s been made. It’s only displayed for a minute and before I realised how it all worked, my book disappeared and I was only able to get a pic of my front cover! Great idea though, and I’m sure it’s popular with kids.

A bit of a taxi challenge to get back to the hotel as it was raining - it took well over an hour and four different waiting places! However, all good, and it made my afternoon siesta even more delicious!

I had a ‘dipping dish’ in The Providore in the hotel gallery later at night and then joined Bb and his colleagues for a drink after that in the hotel. Another good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.