Grammy

By Grammy

Could Phil Be Correct?

We had another pretty quiet day. The sun shone brightly and the high temp was 45°F. Hubby worked on the printer that malfunctioned when I tried to print out our WV menu. Just as well it did. My sister called and asked if we could leave on Friday, 9 Feb. One of the groups we really enjoy is playing locally on the 10th. So we quickly added one more day to the menu and created my local and WV grocery lists. I also realized we will be there on Ash Wednesday and the first Friday in Lent. We won’t be eating ribs or chicken pot pie those days. Hubby and I will grab a fast food fish sandwich after Wednesday’s Mass. Hubby went back to the parish cemetery looking for grave stones but was no more successful than yesterday. He took back some unneeded items to Lowe’s. I ironed and emptied the dishwasher while he was gone. After lunch, I went out to get my blip. There were daffodils peeking up in most flower beds. Guess Punxsutawney Phil may have been correct with his prediction. I, for one, will be happy to have spring arrive. Winters are hard on blippers, especially when there are no beautiful snow scenes to photograph. I do not mind the cold but the barren landscape is too gloomy. We plan to attend an Italian dinner fundraiser at a neighboring school after Mass tonight. Another day with no cooking required. It’s almost shower time and I have missed my nap. Thanks for visiting. Stay safe.
“Yesterday was "ground-hog's day" in many parts of the United States, and Candlemas day in many other parts of the world. From time immemorial, it has been a critical day in the affairs of the weather. The character of the second of February is really of much more importance than whether the first of March comes in like a lion or a lamb. The simplest form of the adage is:—
If Candlemas day be bright and clear,
There'll be two winters in that year.”
~Hartford Courant, 1877

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.