ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Breda Mural 22 -- 'Maria Hemelvaartkerk'

'Hemelvaart' = 'Hey-mul-vart' = 'Ascension'

This, then, is a painting of the small Church of the Ascension that used to stand opposite this building, to the right of the picture.  The house to which this wall belongs is the home of one Annie van Gils, an elderly woman who has been living here since she was a small child, and who used to visit and play around the church before it was demolished to make way for a passageway gallery of boutique shops.  When Blind Walls asked her what they could paint on 'her' wall, she promptly replied, 'The Church of the Ascension'!  It had apparently influenced the character of the little neighbourhood so much that the residents had protested strongly once they knew of the demolition plans, to no avail.

I don't think I'll be going to town for a while after this, as the weather is worsening, the skies back to the familiar grey of a few weeks ago.

Some housekeeping, kitchen duties, some colouring, and a nice catch up with gaming!  Thankful I passed my first ancient Greek history exam.  Thankful also that the vacancy in Dordrecht and 'Gorkum' was filled by somebody else.  While the chance for extra income was welcome, my mind would not have been on my work.  Thankful for my early pension.  And the last thing I'm happy about today is that the basic itinerary for our summer holiday is finished.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.