jennym999

By jennym999

My mothers family

This morning I went for a swim and then to an Aqua class with an instructor I had not seen before, luckily she was very good.

Doing some more work on my ‘Book of my Life’ today for my daughter. This week I outlined my mothers family…this photo was taken in about 1908 before she was born and shows her seven siblings ( she also had two others who died before she was born) So my grandmother had 10 children over a period of 18 years …difficult to imagine for us. My mother was the youngest. One brother died after an accident in his 20’s but the other six all got married and between them had 10 children. So I had 10 cousins on this side of the family, they were all 10-20 years older than me and as they all got married I remember going to lots of weddings when I was a child, and was a bridesmaid at two. Most lived within half an hour drive so my parents had lots of family gatherings, often evenings playing cards. Unfortunately I don’t have a photograph of my mother with all her family!

I went to help with Gardening Club and today the children put Broad beans in jars. However no blotting paper available in schools these days ( that’s what was used when I was a child) so we used paper towels which were very flimsy and not so easy to use!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.