fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

I Believe In The Best

I am a Witney blanket, Original and best, You'll never get cold feet, With me across your chest. Pam Ayres 1974

I searched out this Pam Ayres poem when steveng mentioned it when he commented on my blanket blip on Monday. She said in the live recording I found that she was asked to come up with a poem but never heard anything back when she submitted it. Looks like they used the 'best' bit here.

As think I mentioned before, I worked for Early's back in the late 90s which is how we came to move to the Cotswolds.

Today I had a coffee with one of the lead guys at Witney Photo Group to get some ideas for practical nights at Cirencester. They run an unusual modular programme where they pick a topic, e.g. macro and then have 5 evenings on it - theory, practical, discussion, formal speaker, competition. I got lots of ideas, but boy do they take some organising, not to mention a huge amount of equipment.  

I was in Witney anyway to meet up with mrsfb after her nails and hair appointments. Latest nails in the extra - done for next week which is our anniversary as well as Valentine's. 

Historical Society last night was a hoot. We'd already paid our subs by bank transfer but there were still several members insisting on paying cash, and wanting change for £22 from £30 submitted at the door. When we eventually got going the sound system didn't work (a regular occurrence) so some members couldn't hear much of it anyway.

In other news I had a nice email from MPB re the sale of my X100V. They upped their offer by £15 as I had kept the original box.

One year ago:
Looking Up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.