ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Incompatible

I found this floppy disc at the bottom of a box of assorted papers and odds & ends. It has been titled, which implies there is some data recorded on it. Not a lot of data, granted, as there’s less than 1.5MB available. And now I’m intrigued to see what it is I felt was worth saving.
Unfortunately, I’ve not had a PC with a floppy disc drive for at least fifteen years - probably longer. And Mrs C’s MacBook definitely won’t play it. So I’m no nearer finding out what is on the disc. You can buy disc readers that plug into a USB port from eBay, but even the cheapest is about £12 and I’m not sure I want to spend that much just to look at one disc that may - or, more likely, may not - contain something interesting.
I’ve put out an appeal on FB to see if anyone I know has an old PC (or one of the modern readers) that I can borrow for half an hour, so I’ll wait and see if there’s any response to that before I look for other solutions.
Another quiet(ish) day today. A decent workout in the gym this morning and a surprisingly expensive trip to the supermarket this afternoon. I say “surprisingly” as we only popped in to get something for tea, yet somehow managed to fill a small trolley! And I’m not actually certain there were any more meals in there, just odds and sods.
Nothing planned for the weekend, we’ll just play it by ear depending on what the weather does. Surely it can’t stay grey, cold and wet for much longer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.