soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

The garden at Ashton Court

I met my (Oxfam shop) friend M for a walk at Ashton Court, a huge park on the edge of Bristol- said to be the ‘lungs’ of the city, incredibly popular for walks, picnics and also balloon flights take off here. I’ve blipped the lovely trees a few times before. 
The ground was waterlogged still, so we stuck to the paths, and ended up in the cafe, or course, via the gardens. The main is a corner I really liked because of the red dogwood and the lime green whatever it is - as well as the snowdrops.  In the extra you can see the house, beyond to the right are two wonderful things.  If you follow the lamppost upwards you can see in the hazy distance Kelston Round Hill with a stand of trees on the top. About 8 miles away, it’s a wonderful walk and my Boxing Day blip was all about it. This  Nearer is a white stand, which is part of Ashton Gate, home of Bristol City FC, where I will be on Tuesday evening with my son, who’s coming up for a few days to work on the flood plans for the river I blipped the other day.
At lunchtime I went to the lovely singing group. In the evening I watched a wonderful film called ‘Tish’ about a woman, Tish Murtha, a photographer from the North East, who documented childhood, housing, industrial decline and unemployment in Tyneside, particularly in the 70s and 80s. I really recommend it, especially to anyone with North East connections eg YellowBalloon? But I don’t recommend it to fans of Margaret Thatcher:) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.