fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Quernmore

When you move somewhere new, there is always a little bit of "local knowledge" to be acquired. In these parts, a lot of that local knowledge is to do with how you pronounce placenames.

In some cases, I don't have a problem. Even after twenty years, I still pronounce Lancaster and Casterton as if there was an extra 'r' in there without any hesitation or apology but other placenames are less straightforward: I still hesitate over Claughton.

The trickiest bugger of the lot, though, is Quernmore. It is pronounced as "Korma" (or, possibly, "Kor(n)ma" with a hint of an 'n'.) This has caught me out as recently as last year, when I was corrected with a "will he never learn" shake of the head.

I drove down that way last night on my way to a meeting in Lanca(r)ster. Here's a shot of the view out across Morecambe Bay. You're welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.