Absconding

Work took me to Stirling today, to a Caledonia Youth conference: Risky Business. It was a good conference, with a fantastic two-course sit down lunch (soup and seabass) and a great location. I found a forest wilderness behind the centre so in a break, I took a rest from networking and headed for a wee walk. I spied this foxglove in the sunlight and stopped for a shot.

After a troubled journey back to Stirling train station, I had to sprint about half a mile for the train. It was brilliant, I made it with 14 seconds to spare after running through the streets, across roads, through ticket barriers and over a railway bridge. Epic sprinting! And I did it all so I could get a train home in time for my running club.

However, when I got to the club, my head really wasn't in the right place at all. I thought we were doing a relay session and was quite looking forward to some speed work. It wasn't as expected and I completely lost the will to do it. I've mentioned before that I'm quite an antisocial runner and I like to be on my own. I think I might have been out with groups too much recently. All I could think of was going off and doing my own thing. So I did.

Kath and Karen found me a few minutes afterwards, they weren't doing the session either. The three of us went for a nice little run. Three of us was much better than a whole group.

Today's run: 3 miles
June running mileage: 71 miles
2013 running mileage: 531 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.