Roll With It

By Falmike

8th Wonder Of The World

Mrs S , Sam, Paddy and I enjoyed a day out today, courtesy of the Eden Project who offered free entry to Military Veterans and members of the Blue Light Services.
Often described as the “8th wonder of the world”, the Eden Project really does need to be seen to be believed. The giant crater that it sits in, the enormous rainforest & mediterranean biomes and the outdoor gardens are breathtaking and a “must-see” for everyone.
We have been visiting since 1999, yes I know it didn’t open until 2001 but you could pay to watch it being built from viewing platforms, even then it was a “must see”.
Although there is more to the Eden Project than the Biomes that is where most people head for, the four of us started at the top and worked our way down the paths. Less people than the summer meant we were able to enjoy what we were seeing without the crowds.
Not allowed in the Biomes, Paddy settled with me at the outdoor restaurant with a coffee, me, book, me and the odd treat, Paddy enjoying glorious sunshine.

I dived briefly inside for my look round, one thing I’ve always been good at is remembering faces, recognising Ben McBean from the news around the Afghanistan Conflict I took the opportunity to “Thank Him For His Service”. Ben lost an arm and a leg in that conflict aged only 20.

Four and a half hours after arriving I climbed back up the zig-zag footpath which takes you back up to the exit via the shop. Eden coffee pods for the Nespresso were my choice.

We arrived home tired but happy after a tremendous day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.