Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Monday: Benefactors’ Day

Another day involving military bands……

I’ve been pretty tired today.  I had to get up at 0500 for an early departure to Belize City for an event celebrating Benefactors’ Day.  Somehow, that translated into me waking up at 0300 and not being able to get off to sleep again.

Up in the city, I met a British MP who is here for a week’s official visit.  She’d come a bit early and spent the weekend here so came with me to the event, followed by breakfast at the Governor-General’s.  The rest of her delegation (three more MPs and a parliamentary liaison officer) arrived later this morning.

We all met in Belmopan and then I took them to Guanacaste National Park so they could ‘experience jungle’.  We were quite lucky in that we saw quite a few howler monkeys.

This evening they came to the house together with a few of my colleagues for a briefing dinner ahead of their visit this week.

Did I mention it was a public holiday today?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.