helenann

By helenann

Pleione formosana

I've been excited to see my Pleione plants coming into flower over the past few days, after I potted up the pseudobulbs a couple of weeks ago. They are a kind of orchid from China and Taiwan.
Last spring they didn't bloom, and I think that may have been because I hadn't  overwintered them in the greenhouse; they  need a good, cold, dormancy  period to produce flowers. This past winter they spent in my unheated greenhouse, rather  than in the house, which seems to have done the trick.

I visited my Mother this afternoon, timing  my visit, deliberately, so I could join the residents of her care home in watching the excellent 1987 film of "When we are Married", which some of them had enjoyed reading aloud, a few weeks ago. (My Mum had been well cast as Maria Helliwell, who was played  in the film by Patrica Routledge!) It is quite a long film so we only watched the first half today. It also stars Timothy West, Prunella Scales and Bernard Cribbins.  
My mother was delighted to hear that  her tortoise, Stormin' Norman, is awake again. I'll need to bring her over to my home soon for the pair of them to be reunited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.