Julesey's

By Julesey

The Arctic Monkeys at Glastonbury

So the first full day of music and everything is singing including the weather. We spent the morning round the Green Futures fields which are full of offers of alternative therapies and information on green energy. It is also a great place for food and we had a lovely vegetarian lunch. For once I did not think it would have been improved with bacon. The girls went off seeing different bands and I sat with Tiff and Mike up on the hill by the Pyramid STage watching Ciaran cover himself in a melting ice cream. So cute. Amy was amazed at how polite the crowd were . No pushing even in a mosh pit at Enter Shikari. ELlie saw Peace who were also great and we all met up for Alt J. There is something lovely about the sunset slot. Alt-J were perfect for it. Steve was due to arrive imminently ( and in fact had caught Alt J) but we went to the Pyramid stage to catch Dizzee Rascal and the Arctic Monkeys. Dizzee was INSANE!! He threw himself in the crowd and had a brilliant audience connection. I was given Ellies 4/3 compact camera to look after as they went off down the front. I have to say I liked her camera very much. Absolutely OWNED my DSLR in low light conditions with zoom as in this shot.
I managed to find STeve and we ummed and ahhed about whether to see Chic and Nial Rogers or the ARctics. I saw the Arctic Monkeys in a small venue in Birmingham just before their first album came out. They were so good then that I immediately booked to see them in Cardiff where they were also great. In my opinion they have never been quite so good since and were lack lustre at V festival a year or so ago. In my opinion they were lack lustre at Glastonbury 13 too. We did stay and watch it as Tiff , Mike and Ciaran were settled up on the hill but in retrospect wish I'd seen Chic. The hits from the first album are still the best. When the Sun Gos Down is still one of my faves.
That link was from when they were good live though.
It was great to be all together as a family at the festival. The girls were really pleased to see their dad , shame teachers cant get fridays off!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.