The Lichfield Poppy Phenomenon

I pass this marvellous field more or less every day and I've delighted in watching the changes to the colours as the plants battle for dominance.

It started as a normal rapeseed field, with just a splash of red. Then the poppies marched forward and became a bit of a local landmark and a magnet for photographers. Most of the day you can't park on the pull in for love nor money at the moment ! I've twisted my back and went to the pool for an early swim to see if it helped, so I was able to take a few shots at 7.30 this morning.

I love the way the poppies are now speckled with dancing white daisies. I love the way it changes with differing light.

For all the time and energy spent with digital cameras of all shapes and sizes, we still can't capture the quality of this marvellous sight.

Wider view to try to give an idea of the size

Via the opium to the Cathedral

stopping on the pull in is hazardous, even in the early morning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.