AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Here comes the summer!

I've had Feargal Sharkey's voice in my head all weekend - singing, you understand, not telling me to murder my nearest and dearest. I'm sure Feargal's a very nice man and wouldn't dream of so instructing me...

I have, I realise, been a bit lax with the blips - I've been taking photos, I promise, but after a couple of weeks of routinely 10/11 hour days with very few breaks, the thought of switching on the laptop when I get home has made me want to cry! Next week will be busy too, I think, but hopefully I'm over the hill (no jokes about my age there please) and on the downhill coast.

It has (thus far) been a glorious weekend oop north. I had a good wander round Selby yesterday, thanks to a rather serendipitously full usual car park. I hit the charity shops and managed to curb my enthusiasm to a small handbag - very summery and sweet. Went to the greengrocers, which was absolutely packed, and the fruit & veg market stall which, at 10.30 in the morning, had already sold out of the little yellow tomatoes I bought and loved last week. I do love to see local businesses thriving, and feel good about making my small contribution.

The serendipity came though as I was leaving town on the way to the tip. I've decided to replace my falling-apart, MFI flat-pack bedroom furniture with mis-matched pieces. I'd already found a replacement for the bedside cabinet, in Matalan of all places (well, actually, I'd seen them in my hairdresser's salon and fallen in love). I drove past the St Leonard's Hospice furniture shop, and called in once I'd been to the tip and found this little gem which I thought would look lovely painted a nice dove grey and used in place of a chest of drawers (it's even got a working key and everything!!). I've been looking for something with a glass front for ages - I like a wardrobe that's the same - and can't believe I found this for £35. The newspaper-wrapped articles on the top are two glass shelves for inside. Flippin' delighted!!

On Friday, I was ridiculously tired and all set to leave early and come home straight away, but fate struck again. Someone else's poop hit one of my fans, and I had to stay to clean up the mess... Having done that, and therefore not getting away early at all, I thought I might as well have a walk round the Staff Festival. This is an event that the University holds every year to thank staff for their hard work. It's mostly free (there are a couple of workshops, like ceramic painting, that have a small charge) and managers are encouraged to let their staff finish at 3pm so they can attend with their families. This year there were craft and food stalls, bands, a choir, a Jorvik viking display, belly dancing, exotic animals (I saw one of my colleagues stroking the head of a humungous yellow and white snake), workshops from Opera North, ceramic painting, knitting and beer tasting (not at the same time!) and stuff like tai chi, embroidery and hula hooping. There was a kids' art competition and a quiz, and my favourite bit, a birds of prey display. I particularly liked shy boy and Professor Yaffle!

Oh, and I saw a really cute car on the way back to mine :-) Of course, I've no idea what it is, but I liked the colour lol.

So, this morning I've done the weeding in the back garden and at the side of the house - it really is never-bloody-ending - with the sweat dripping in my eyes, and I think this afternoon I shall mostly be sitting in the sun with a cold drink, listening to next door's water feature tinkling away and enjoying my garden in full bloom.

And not thinking about tomorrow. Or the ironing. Or the two wardrobes which I dismantled yesterday afternoon and which now need to go to the tip. Or the driveway, which will soon be overtaken with weeds and I won't be able to find the car for them. Nope, not thinking about any of that...

I hope you're all having similarly luscious weekends, blippers!

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.