LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Taking Advantage of the Sun

It is mid afternoon and it hasn’t rained yet. Could it be a record for this May? A friend has just sent me an item of news which says the average rainfall for Edinburgh in May is 47mm. This May we have had 166mm. Now wonder we are all complaining.

I walked over a very sunny Meadows to Marchmont this morning and saw the erection of the June fun fair which runs in tandem with this weekend’s Meadows Festival. The fun fare is far enough away that I won’t hear it or see it, but the music stage for the Festival is going up about 50yards from my patio door and within sight of my sitting room window. I know from experience that I will be assailed by very loud music and tannoy notices from 10am on Saturday until 7pm on Sunday. It’s basically a mini music festival right on my doorstep and I really can’t understand why it’s allowed so close to residential properties. Short of wearing earplugs there doesn’t seem any way of avoiding the din apart from being away from home.

As I passed a hairdresser’s in Warrender Park Road, I saw the next client waiting her turn in the sun- a more comfortable place than a chair, obviously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.