LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Day of Two Halves

We poor mortals thought we had been handed summer on a plate this morning. The sun shone , the birds chirped, the flowers turned their faces to the warmth and the humans sauntered to work in shirt sleeves. 
We were so wrong, we were duped. Just as I met up mid afternoon with a Selkie and her friend for a cuppa in level 5 in John Lewis I happened to look out at  the view over to Fife and saw an ominous dark grey sea and a horizon of  advancing black cloud. The rain when it came as we were leaving was like nothing I have been out in before. Without any idea of how long the deluge would last , I ploughed on along Princes Street to get a bus- it was a bit like gorge walking. By the time I got home I had to peel all my clothes off. I was soaked through to the skin, happily that is waterproof.

My Selkie who has been down from Orkney with her husband for the Edinburgh Half Marathon has hardly seen any let up in the rain. On the other hand Orkney, it seems, has missed a lot of the bad weather. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.