Look Out

By chrisf

The Interval

A really gloomy day with heavy rain this afternoon, so I wasn’t at all sure about going to the Shakespeare North Playhouse this evening for an outdoor performance of Shakespeare’s last play, The Tempest, by the Festival Players Company. But miraculously the clouds parted half an hour before the start time and it was clear skies - glad I had wrapped up though, it was chilly. Also glad I brought a cushion, on display here.

I enjoyed it. And I also enjoyed the unscripted section when strong breezes caused the set to fall apart, causing a delay whilst the six actors stabilised the structures. A bit of a tempest in itself, which seemed appropriate.

The Playhouse has very recently won yet another award - the RIBA NW Building of the Year. Well deserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.