LIFE!!!

By greengirl

Public Library

I have sung the praises of libraries on blip before. I love libraries, I’ve always loved them, and I’ve been grateful to them over the years as places of learning but also of refuge, for expanding my horizons but also for providing a safe space.

Somehow I have spent less time in libraries in the last few years. I blame the internet (which I first learned to use in a library, ironically). Instead of an encyclopaedia, we use the Web, and that’s great, and yet…

Today I had some spare time between work and a date in town with my husband, and I thought I’d go and see if my library card was still valid. The librarian remembered my name! And said she hadn’t seen me for a while. It turns out that I can use my bus pass as a library card. And there is a Community Jigsaw!

I borrowed an appropriate book. I picked some random books from the reference section. I was back. I still love libraries.

See extra for our “date” :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.