CrocusMan

By TonyG

Pottery Day

A day off between two work days.  The bulk of my spare time today spent at pottery.  This morning I had arranged to meet a fellow potter, much more experienced than I, someone with a very special artistic flair, to learn a little more about using oxides and stains.  In particular I wanted help colouring a piece of mine.  It was very helpful and I will soon see how it has turned out.  I also did some glazing.

After lunch and a walk for Meg, I returned to get help from another, similarly gifted potter with the two mugs pictured above.  These I had thrown on Thursday and today I needed some advice on fitting handles to thrown ware.   My first attempts at pulling handles from a lump of clay - think of the action of milking a cow! - were ok and one can be seen attached on the drying shelf at pottery.   The other had a thin spot and although it fitted well enough, I decided to cut it off and make another at home this evening.  It's drying as I type and I will attach it before I go to bed.

Although it's late, there's one more trip to pottery to come.  The big kiln was loaded with glazed bisque-wear this afternoon and is currently firing but the top bung needs putting in.  It's left open to allow clay gasses and any remaining moisture to escape until a certain temperature has been reached.   This will be very soon so Meg and I will head off and she can have her night-time walk.   

On Tuesday I will see how all the items on the shelf turn out :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.