BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Bridges on the Tyne

A day out and back by train to Newcastle. On my way out I heard a piano being played in Waverley Station which I assume was the gift from the recent TV show.

I was going to the toon to take part in the UK Biobank research study. Almost 5 years ago to the day I went for the first time to get various health measurements taken, bone density scan, MRI scan and a brain scan. (On my return the family kindly asked if they found one!)

One does not get results - it all feed anonymously into the research teams. They now have over 500,000 volunteers and the intention is to find out what might make a difference in early life/ be spotted earlier to help prevent illness in the future. If something abnormal is spotted they'll let your GP know.

After all the scans there were various cognitive and hearing tests, some of which I was not so good at I think.

Anyhow, just under 5 hours later I got out and walked the half hour back to the station and headed home. This was the view as I looked west. The extra is of the magnificent station, opened in 1850 by Queen Victoria. Back just after 22:30 and, perhaps fortunately, missed watching the football.

I returned to find a really lovely box of chocolates from our recent visitors had been delivered. We refrained from opening them tonight !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.