fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Build 'em up, pull 'em down

I had a meeting after work with Yoss and the potential sales guy that Yoss is thinking of employing for the electronic music school he's setting up. It all went well, although I always have the feeling that successful sales people tend to be slightly odd, which makes them very hard to evaluate!

After that, I walked up through Spinningfields to meet the Minx at The Everyman. According to The Mill, the big firms that populated this area are moving away in their droves to smaller premises near the city centre, leading to speculation that the area will be redeveloped into accommodation. 

I don't know about that, nor do I care about it much. I find the constant development in Manchester pretty tiresome, particularly when the new high rises are so bland. Perhaps the one consolation is that they don't look built to last. 

The building in today's Blip has already met its fate. One can't help having a feeling of pessimism about what will go up in its place. 

Anyway, it brighter news, the film we saw was 'La Chimera', which we both enjoyed and which I would recommend. It took me back to my days living in Edinburgh, when I'd go to the cinema a couple of times a week. As I only went to the Dominion, the Cameo, and the Filmhouse, I saw a fair number of European films, which I pretty much always enjoyed, not least because the plots were so unpredictable. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.