Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Orchids, orchids and much more

This was another morning when I lay in bed and argued with myself. I'd had a late night and was tired BUT the weather looked good for a visit to my very favourite wild flower reserve.

By 0800 I was ready to leave. I drove 4 miles and then remembered that the SD cards were on my desk............ It was worth returning for them.

The drive on the Military Road was a delight. Very few other people were out and about, just one or two early-bird walkers on the Hadrian's Wall Trail.

The views were splendid.

Eventually I arrived at the reserve. I have never seen so many orchids here. Apart for the very rare, small white orchids, which flower earlier in the year, every other one I expected was here. 

The majority are marsh/greater spotted and hybrids of these. The fragrant orchids are just opening as are the tway blades. Look at the extra to see a frog orchid vying for attention with a fragrant orchid.

The sun came and went. It was easier when the clouds came over. I was in seventh heaven.

I was trying to find a good shot of quaking grasses when the rain arrived and I retreated to my car.

This weekend has been a bit like a holiday at home.

Please view on black!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.