Day Off

First proper day off since I got onto the mountain. Took some photos of supercars first thing, then went onto the pass - took 6 photos and decided that I really did not want to be doing that today. Just needed a break.

So - had a quick go in a Ferrari 360 Cabriolet, which was nice, and then parked up at Swiss/Italian border and went for a walk.

The view out of my window is of Mount Umbrail (Piz Umbrail) and I've always looked at the path that goes round just below the peak. But in the distance the path goes up and over the edge of the valley.

Decided to walk to at least that point in the distance. No idea how far it was, but it was 3.5 hours there and back. Took some advice about alpine walking; slow and steady.

Finally reached the peak and got this view. Which is different from my usual views. Had a bit of lunch and then made a start to get back again.

And here's where we have the gotcha - cramp. Muscle Fatigue.

It was a bit of an issue, but I limped it round the tiny little path. And then there was a ravine and where a path used to be. I prayed that the cramp didn't hit me just at that moment, but it did. Lets just say friction stopped a rather long drop, and I was quite pleased.

Did open the camera bag near the car to discover - NO CAMERA??? - for a few moments I'm thinking - I've got to walk all the way back to peak to get it. Then I realised the bag had two pockets.

All in all, a really nice day not photographing bikers or cyclists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.