Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not a bin find…

Miss-timed my walk to the eye clinic appointment. I was listening to Radio 4, what I thought was ‘live’, but was actually not, so I arrived back at the house from our walk at 10.10, instead of 10! Panic - Archie’s chew toy set up, and out the door at 10.15. I rushed shuffled in a hurried manner across the Meadows, normally a good 20 minute walk (for me), and in their door at 10.27! My face a delicate shade of puce and gasping - but I was there on time. I HATE being late for anything.

There were just a few things to fill in , things to be signed, and little tests to complete. ‘Can you recite the months backwards?’ was quite tricky, but ‘What year is this?’ was dead easy. (What’s that to do with my eye?) Anyway, they’ll contact me in ‘a few months…’

Afterwards, I went straight to my favourite Cafe Nero (quiet jazz music) and had a big cup of tea, and of course, a pain raisin. I had the nice seats by the window, so I sat there for ages, enjoying the ambience.

I watched the tennis at Queen’s in the afternoon. And was dismayed to hear raucous pop muzak blasted out in the two minutes between games!! Why? It’s modern life, where peace and quiet is not allowed! If they do it at Wimbledon - heaven forbid - I will NOT be watching.

I took Archie out again in the afternoon while JR was in town. This wasn’t a ‘bin find’ it was at the charity shop. No, he was not allowed to take the rabbit (I think) home.

Step count - 10, 831!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.