Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Derwent Valley Circular Trail

I haven't been on a 'proper' walk since The Lakes, but now the tendonitis has eased I took myself off to Matlock to complete about a 10 mile walk on both sides of the valley.  I was there early, starting out at just after 7 am.  It was cool, but I soon warmed up as I climbed High Tor.  The tor has a sensational view across Matlock, but I wanted to walk something called Giddy Edge, just under the tor and supposedly a very narrow path on the side of an exposed rock face (see extra).  It was interesting, but I never felt in danger and there were rails to hold onto in the most exposed points.

From there I firstly dropped back down and then climbed up to Riber Castle, which looks to be undergoing refurbishment.  I was beginning to realise I was letting myself in for some serious ascents (over 2,500 ft for the whole walk) and descents some of it in wooded areas with muddy and greasy paths to negotiate.  As I returned to the valley floor I came across a disused canal arm, joining the Cromford Canal close to the River Derwent.  The main image shows Aqueduct Cottage, which was provided for a canal worker to ensure that the water level on the arm of the canal was maintained.  I bumped into a volunteer who advised that the small spur was called the Nightingale Arm (after one of the businessmen who paid for its construction).  It didn't last long in use as the railway soon came into the valley.

From there I walked along the canal to the High Peak Junction where a light railway was constructed to head through the Peak District to Whaley Bridge.  The only issue was how they would get the trains up a steep incline (called the Sheep Pastures Incline).  After walking it I can vouch that no train could get up this incline under its own power alone.  The solution was to construct a winch system, originally in two sections, before it was upgraded so it could be achieved in one pull.  It rose almost 500 ft in 0.8 of a mile.

The walk let me gain all of this height before dropping down into the village of Cromford, before the final climb to the Heights of Abraham.  On the way up this final climb I was beginning to regret not staying low but I was rewarded by the robin in one of the other extras displaying as he had a wash in the small pool at the side of the trail.

I finished back in Matlock about 4 hours after starting, with no ill effects on my ankle.  I took a last photo of High Tor with Riber Castle behind.  You can just see some people on the tor and if you look at the rock face you can see a grass line, just under the top most section.  That is where Giddy Edge runs along. Tonight I am tired and aching but that's payback for the enjoyment of the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.