LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

I don’t know what I expected when we returned to Porty beach this morning, but it certainly wasn’t to see Wonky Groyne 4 standing straight as a die with not a single bit of wonkyness left. How had they managed that, everyone was asking and the lovely Glasgow workers were  happy to tell us. It seems they dug a very deep ditch behind the groyne and with heavy machinery they pulled the groyne backwards towards the channel where there was no sand resistance. I’m not sure if they had to secure it with anything else- surely they must have or the next gale will flatten it again.

All the toddlers and their minders as well as grandparents stood intrigued watching the tractors  scooping up and moving sand about. It felt like a giant sand castle building competition. They said 17 weeks but I can’t see it taking that long even if they  also have to fix the gabon at the Joppa steps.

With all that upheaval at Groyne4, daughter#1 and I swam at Groyne5 in the sunshine and with a calm sea before having a coffee at McDonald’s in London Road where it  is so handy for me to change buses.
 
In my extra I have included a photo of Glasgow grandson  Ewan with his Reader of the Year cup from the Alexandra Parade PS. It is the second time he has won it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.