Teasel

By Teasel

Mausoleum

Even though I could barely keep my eyes open when I went to bed, I slept badly again, and before I knew it, it was breakfast time. 
 
The sunshine of yesterday\y had disappeared and was replaced by rain.  This did not make picking my activity for the morning easy, and in fact I didn’t pick an activity, but was persuaded to go out sailing. TT went out kayaking again.   We got togged up in waterproofs and buoyancy aids and got into the inflatable boat, which took us out to the boat we were to sail in.  Getting in and out of the boats was the hardest thing I did all morning.  Our instructor was great, and in fact I did a session with him last year.  I don’t think that learning to sail is for me though.  It’s so technical and I am really not all that interested.  We all got a turn at steering the boat – if that’s even the correct terminology and doing other things that I mostly didn’t understand!  When our time was up we headed back to shore and we were all agreed that our waterproofs were not waterproof, so we all had to go and change.  I then made use of the drying room to dry some stuff off – including my shoes.
 
After lunch  a couple of us headed out on bikes and went into and round Killin and back again.  We both really struggled to get going, but we were told later that that was not unusual as the start of the route is pretty much all uphill .  Once we got going we quite enjoyed our short tour.  The rain went off, but it was very dull.  We stopped at Finlanrig Castle for a look at the ruins, before heading back to te and cake.
 
It was then time to say our farewells and to thank J for arranging another fabulous weekend.  We had a lovely drive down the road, of course I looked over at the route of yesterday’s walk and at the  Glen Ogle viaduct.  The day got brighter, the further south we came.  We got home to an emopty house, as BB was at his rugby awards dinner – which involved a fabulous looking barbeque.
 
Being back in civilisation I was able to catch up on the prom pictures that I had been sent.  They all scrubbed up very well.  I went for a walk to make up for my lack of steps and came home to find TT shouting at the TV.  He was watching  football match.  BB appeared home around midnight, just as I was heading to bed.  He was very merry and was up for a chat.  I chatted for a wee while, but after two sleepless nights, I had to go to bed, as I was hoping for a decent sleep.
 
This is the ruined mausoleum beside the ruined Finlanrig Castle at Killin.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.